Raubrey

By raubrey

Peacock

Today we went to Blackbrook Zoological Park (near Leek , Staffordshire) and had a wonderful time.

I think I took around 130 images whilst I was there and there was maybe 10-15 images that I would have been happy to have used as a blip.

My wife chose today's blip out from the shortlist of contenders. Personally, I do not think it is perhaps the best of the lot, but it is certainly the most dramatic. It will also be what we probably both think of when we think of the wildlife centre.

When we walked through the information centre, we had a Peacock waiting for us on a fence and throughout our visit they would appear at regular intervals.

This was a courtship display routine with a rather bemused looking female, but it also developed into some quality posturing with another male. It was quite comical as the other male was at best a third of the size of this male and at worst a fifth. The smaller male would simply not back down and I had to admire his pluckiness (excuse the pun).

A big thanks to all the staff at Blackbrook who were remarkably friendly, but a much bigger thanks to the very kind lady and gentlemen who gave us a 2:1 ticket outside the centre.

Their friends could not make the trip and they brought the voucher in the hope it would save another couple a few pounds. Such generosity of spirit is something I will remember as much as those magnificent, arrogant, preening peacocks at Blackbrook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.