Desperation!

These short days are a problem.
I thought I had some great shots in the bag of a rainbow which was in the north-west sky just after sunrise this morning. Sadly, I had mis-judged, and the pictures failed - probably due to an auto-focus difficulty.
So - panic struck this evening!
Here is a ceramic Japanese figure. I bought him in Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture, in 1995. I was there on an extended stay to act as caretaker for my son James' English language school, and also taught his classes. James was in England for surgery on an injured knee. It was a wonderful experience, with delightful students of all ages and backgrounds. My youngest class was a group of 3 to 5 years old children of the medical and nursing staff at the local teaching hospital. Yes - they start them young in Japan! The classes were in the hospital creche, and mums were welcome and generally in attendance.
I really enjoyed it. Returned to Japan with Fiona last year, and one of my (adult) ex-pupils came up to me in a restaurant to say 'Hello'!

This little man looks replete and contented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.