a blessing in my bath

Evie B has continued going to the childminders for the last couple of weeks, the idea being that she'd be nicely occupied while I looked after a newborn. Instead, she's been occupied while I've luxuriated in the bath!

She left at 9:15 this morning and the house fell still. I napped to the soothing sounds of Fleetwood Mac having awoken at 4am with (pointless) contractions which stopped by 6am leaving me wide awake and bored of the waiting game. I later persuaded Mr B that a long lunch was in order to make the most of this unexpected child free time (he was working from home) and we sauntered out to a favourite cafe, Libby's in Marple Bridge. I wolfed a chicken club sandwich, we shared a chocolate cake and I enjoyed chatting to my best friend before returning to our very quiet home.

When I finally retrieved the girl, the house was flooded with her noise once more and it felt good. And she even suggested a bath - how could I refuse? I am grateful for Miss Eve and unexpected snippets of time together before she is no longer the littlest Bullivant. She is a treasure and she made me laugh 'til I thought my waters might break during this particular bathtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.