Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Swan?

Walking back along Putsborough Beach today, I stopped to take a photograph so I could zoom in on a big bird in the sea. It was a shape and size I wasn't used to seeing there and it immediately stood out as wrong.

Was it a swan?
In the sea?

Just as I lifted my camera, Richard pointed and said 'That's not a swan is it?'

Yes, it was.

We stared for a while and pondered the situation. I checked the photo on my camera. It was a young swan, still very grey.

From what I've read on the Internet this evening, it's not entirely unheard of to see swans in the sea, but it's not common, and this one was alone and a long way from anywhere that you could consider agreeable to swans.

Struggling with terrible reception, Richard tried to make a couple of phone calls to see what, if anything, could be done or who, if anyone, should be told.

We don't know what's happened since.

Hopefully it was just a brave, rogue adventurer and knew exactly what it was doing...


Today's other exciting news: I descaled the coffee machine




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.