bad examples

One disadvantage of this modern computer-based recording technology over the cheapyknacked Fostex XR-3 magnetic-tape four-track I used to have to use was that the futility of attempting to get it to run the tape through at the same speed twice meant that almost every vocal track I recorded benefited from that subtle thickening/chorus effect created by recording the same line twice at two different speeds. Attempting the same thing electronically with no speed difference just highlights the slight but glaring variations in pitch as instances of beating. I think I'm a bit out of practise (having done little since the previous Blipalele recording) which is why I attempted to mitigate the main vocal line with a multi-layered backing vocal track and doubled-up uke tracks, though it appears to have had embarrassingly little effect on the guide track just issued. Hopefully the end of April will provide sufficient time to be able to re-record as I thought I would have been able to in the first place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.