Painted Last Summer

This is a part of a painting I did last August at the Creative Arts Community residential art workshop that was held at the Menucha Conference Center in Corbett, OR. I took the Open Studio workshop from Sandy Roumagoux. She had us do large paintings on paper very quickly. This is part of my favorite one from the week.

The subject of the painting is the acid tanks at the Georgia Pacific site in Bellingham, Washington. The source was this photograph I took on a City of Bellingham tour of the GP site. From this I made a thumbnail sketch and painted a large oil painting. I used the same thumbnail sketch for the quick painting shown here. I did not have the photograph with me so I was able to explore the subject with just the sketch and my imagination.

I made several quick paintings from this subject and others from different photos and paintings I had done of GP. I plan to do a show with the original photographs and sketches, and the paintings that came from them, so viewers can get a sense of the process and the changes I made as I went along. Should be fun to put together and to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.