RogMull

By RogMull

A dram for @NicolaSturgeon...

I watched the vote and speeches this afternoon to nominate the new First Minister for Scotland. It was indeed an historic moment with the nomination of Scotland's first ever female First Minister. I thought it called for a small toast to the continuing emancipation of women.

Nicola hoped that her eight year old niece (who was watching the proceedings) when she reaches adulthood would not face the same barriers women continue to face today: Unequal pay, gender discrimination and a world still largely constructed to favour men. As a man I applaud her ambition.

Many, many years ago I wrote a paper on women in politics. Although progress has been made, it has been slow, too slow. I hope Nicola's ambition is fulfilled.

So, here is a toast to "a world of respect and equality".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.