No fresh air.

Mrs SJR had a brilliant idea for my blip today; a picture of all the empty coffee mugs on my desk. It really has been a horrid day of no fresh air.
This is the nearest I am getting to the great outdoors, a picture of a boot for use in the great outdoors.

There is a story to this shiny new boot, the most expensive I have ever owned. For years I have used this particular brand called “Scarpa”. I usually have perhaps three pairs on the go each at varying stages of dilapidation. Even when the oldest pair need to go for recycling I have tended to think “well they will still do for a low level walk on a forest road”. In February this year one pair went to the skip and I went to the shop for a new pair of the same only to learn that my favourite model were no longer made. This was the nearest counterpart. I like a weighty boot with a stiff sole. I was really pleased and impressed, day long comfort and with an immense sense of confidence on steep ground. Packing up on site about six weeks later I felt a slight irritation at the heel and looked in expecting to find a wee twig but instead discovered a hole in the lining right at the heel. I took them back to the shop and there was absolutely no hassle, I got a straight swap. Paranoid about the same thing happening again, in case it was pilot error, I took great care with socks and secure lacing to minimise any rubbing but then just a couple of weeks ago….
So here we with take three. Perhaps I should just keep them in the box and take them out to admire them now and again.
I am perplexed. I have had maybe a dozen pairs of Scarpa boots over the years. The soles have worn almost smooth with miles but the lining has remained intact. (The insoles do disintegrate it must be said.)
At risk of sounding 95 things aren’t made the way they used to be.
I have a new lacing up technique to try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.