Royal Armouries Leeds

After most of a working day in the local office, I (Chris) headed out to drive to Leeds. Typically this is a 3 hour trip but as soon as I picked up the M1 at Milton Keynes trouble began. Within 300 yeards of joining the main carridgeway I was stationary, 45 minutes later I finally moved again having seen three fire engines pass on the hard shoulder. I'd barely got back into the usual motorway rhythm before finding traffic stationary again as we were all diverted off the motorway altogether near Northampton. Some sort of accident meant we couldn't rejoin until Daventry and the drive along the A45/A5 to do so was tortuous. Anyway eventually the M1 beckoned once again and in my lack of doing this journey recently, I hadn't realised how roadwork ridden this route has become again with mile after mile of 50mph limit and variable speed cameras to keep us all honest. Argh!!!!

My planned meet up with colleagues for dinner was adandoned, it was well past 8.30pm before I got to my hotel (which itself was 25 minutes from the town centre where others were staying). The upside is I'm next door to where tomorrow's event is taking place at the Royal Armouries.

The area has seen a lot of development in recent years (it must be 8 years since I last visited, I didn't even recognise it) and I had a quick wander around before having a pizza for one in Pizza Express. I met a camera club out doing some night photography, it looks to be a great little area for that. For me however there was too much neon glow in the sky (I'm sure it would be great at twilight) so I've gone black and white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.