Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters

(Backblip, sorry). I was off work for the day so I could go into Poppy's school and give a lesson on how Maths is used at work. I did this in Feb for Poppy's class, I planned a lesson around how our agency works and how we cost up jobs etc, they seemed to like it.

I thought I had better do something a little different this time so I planned a lesson based on the economics of running a band. Who plays which instruments, how much they all cost and then how much we get paid per gig.
The children then had to work out the total cost of the instruments, how many gigs we'd have to play to pay it all off. We then went into more detail by taking beer expenses off the takings ;) I think the fact that our singer Jamie is one of the teachers helped. Anyway they seemed to enjoy it, and I got asked some great (and very funny questions) including 'If someone asked you to play on a song that was going to be in the charts, would you do it ?' hahaha

After an exciting morning I retired to tractor mending to wind down, after a bit of investigation I think it is either the battery of a duff earth. More work on Sunday.

Then off to see Percy at the Corn Exchange. H, Alf and I went, meeting Jules and Pete there. Alf's first proper gig (we have decided the Wurzels don't really count).

It was brilliant. Robert Plant is one of the few old generation of musicians who is still on a journey. Most of them just play the same old tunes to massive arenas. He chooses to ignore the undoubtedly massive offers of cash to do a Led Zeppelin tour and instead works with a wide range of musicians to write brilliant new music, changing and reinventing as he goes. He still plays some of the old LZ stuff but reinvents it in a great way.

The set was a brilliant mix of new and reinvented old, amazing musicianship and camaraderie. Utterly fantastic.

Pictures were never going to be good though, sorry.

large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.