An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Avon Valley Boardwalk: Open!!

My new Cree 2000 Lumen LED torch came today - so, after recharging three AAA Uniross batteries to power the thing, took it out into the 'wilds' of the Avon Valley Nature Reserve. With rain due to be coming in and torrential for most of Saturday, I thought a post midnight Blip might be in order.

This particular stretch of boardwalk alongside the river Avon north of Salisbury survived the horrific floods of last winter but much of didn't further up stream and so the whole stretch was closed off and fenced up, for many months, whilst the old was ripped out and replaced with the new, further in from the river.

Indeed, I had not visited it since so I don't know how long the nice, neat and new stretch has been open for, now.

It was horribly cloudy though, with a softbox pillowy sort of muffled light that had strains of streetlamp ochre in the mix. It wasn't totally dark either, despite there being no moon, so I couldn't test the torch to its full potential but would say that it must be at least 10-15 times brighter than the LED headset that I had been using.

I used the new torch very briefly - less than a second, out of the two and a half minute plus exposure, to illuminate the foreground here, which gives some extra definition and contrast, plus the trademark blue tint of an LED.

There was not much I could do with the colour/s, here. Black and white was a pallid and sickly anaemic palour as all the colour tones are so similar, so that was out. But out of all the dozen or so taken, the lead-in from the walkway probably makes this about the best.

Perspective is exaggerated by the super-wide Sigma 14mm f2.8, on full-frame.

DERELICT THURSDAY CHALLENGE

My Favourite this last week: Osuzanna

And my runner up: clarebeme

Special mention also has to go to Himself's tumbledown old cottage.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.