Ideals are peaceful, history is violent

Violence has followed me around today. Only in the historical sense, you'll be pleased to hear.
The Taylor Wessing was peaceful enough, and afterwards I went upstairs to see the Tudors, because I've just finished reading Wolf Hall.
I took some photos of the skating at Somerset House and then went to see those taken by Bryan Adams for his exhibition "Wounded" which was incredibly moving - a portrait of survival and strength of spirit.

Thirdly, and most amazing, was my visit to the remains of a Roman Amphitheatre underneath the Guildhall. This was only discovered in 1988 and I only learned of its existence yesterday. It was strange to be standing in a place where thousands of people had been killed for entertainment. The Amphitheatre was built to seat 6000 spectators at a time when the population of London was only about 20,000.
On my way back, I visited Postman's Park where I used to meet D in our London lunchtimes. Here there is a Victorian Monument to self-sacrifice, with stories of ordinary people who drowned, burned or got run over trying to save their fellow citizens.
As an antidote to all this, I had to visit Gudrun's shop and be helped to buy some colourful clothes by the nice Swedish assistants. And I got a student discount!
Speeding North again now. Home in time for bed zzzzz

PS D says I should explain the photo. It's an Italian tour guide demonstrating the fate of Edith Cavell, a nurse who was shot in Belgium in 1915.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.