Pleasantly Surpised...

A demanding week at work left me wanting some (photographic) peace and quiet, so I checked the tide tables and headed out to Heacham. I dithered about it a bit, as the weather forecast wasn't great, but I'm so glad I went.

I expected to get wet and I had vaguely planned to get some mono shots of the groynes and the rather lovely curving promenade.

Heacham had other ideas. The weather front was breaking up and producing beautiful wispy clouds and delicate light. I knew that high tide was about 6pm and I hoped that the tide would be high enough to grab some 'floating groynes' before the light gave out. From about 2.3o onwards, the sky was glowing and I was treated to a beautiful sunset. Heacham, Snettisham (and presumably Hunstanton) are the only west-facing beaches on the Norfolk coast.

Composing this shot was difficult as once the tide starting coming in, it didn't hang about, so I had to keep relocating between shots and lining everything up again. Grappling with the maths for the Big stopper is always interesting - the crib card helps, but it still seems like educated guesswork!

This is the last shot of the day, and a few others can be seen here and here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.