ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Another Day In Paradise

Gilding metal is a copper alloy, a brass, comprising 95% copper and 5% zinc. The sheet is widely used for craft metalworking by hammer working. It is also used particularly as a lower-cost training material for silversmiths....and I certainly am still training.

My son and his girlfriend collect the keys to their new home on Monday so I decided to make a bowl to throw the keys into...It is 155 x 155x 4mm and unyielding without a biggish hammer... Hammered away to my heart's content today nearly deafening everyone in the process. After shaping the bowl I annealed it and hammered out a pleasing (to me) hammer pattern before patinating it. I'm happy with the result....and only walloped my thumb once... :-)

It was another day in paradise though too short as my companion had lots to do today so we only got in a class in the silversmiths, a quick lunch and a glorious sunset over the sea..... Some times it's good to have nothing to do except sit and chat....just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.