CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

He's not jesting now!

We went for a walk today in Stratford, and most of my photos were just awful. This is my favourite, believe it or not.

It is part what is known as "The Gower Memorial" which is made up of a large bronze statue of Shakespeare, mounted on a plinth, and around it are the bronze statues of four well known characters from Shakespeare's plays.

This is part of the statue of Hamlet, and is the skull of Yorick, the jester, whose skull was exhumed by a gravedigger in the play Hamlet.
"Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him, Horatio; a fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy" (often misquoted as "Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him well.").

I haven't had chance to finish off my Christmas cakes, as some old friends turned up unexpectedly this morning, but it was lovely to see them. The fruit is still marinating in brandy it should be good by the time I get to make the cakes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.