Too late

I have a strange kind of competitive nature. I don't get a spark, unless I believe I can actually get somewhere. And then even so, when I am being watched, it all too easily goes to pot. Team sports aren’t for me, nor group races – maybe because I feel the pressure from other people. Or maybe just because I don’t like big groups and crowds, or being judged.

Rich told me the time he took on his bike this morning and I knew I stood little chance of matching it despite his bike being heavier and him not having done much cycling lately.

But it was still there. Niggling. It was a possibility. And it was just me.

I turned the time off on my clock to try to stop myself being competitive but I started having little peeks in Ilkley and then again at Ben Rhydding. Because I couldn’t help it.

With the added bonus of slipstreaming a bloke on the run back into Burley, I didn’t do too badly.

Rich pointed out he had to stop to take his fleece off. He too has a secret competitive streak. I know I now stand no future chance!

After a little mutual but good humoured goading, I was taken on an MMT to a wonderful dog friendly café on the back road between Otley & Askwith.

I had super bad timing on the beautiful light that appeared in the afternoon. I went out without the dog to try and catch a fieldfare or a thrush… or something. But as you can see by the setting sun, I was just too late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.