TinyR

By TinyR

I'll Be Back...

The last month and a half, I've been super busy and haven't been able to find the time to Blip each day. I'd still been taking photos but as the days ran into weeks and then to over a month, the thought of uploading and documenting them (to a standard that I'd be happy with) stressed me and I put off doing it many times. I always said I'd get to it "soon". Soon never came, but still I took photos each day. With each day that passed, the thought of uploading them became an even bigger task than I was willing to take on and I started to fall out of love with taking photos. I didn't care as much about what I photographed. Then, a couple of weeks ago, I sat down to upload them, but when one of the images wouldn't upload, I lost the patience and logged off vowing to do it "later". Like soon, later never came either and yesterday, I made a decision.

For the first time in nearly two years, I didn't take a photo. Despite my concerns, I didn't feel remotely disappointed in myself. I was always worried that this day would come by accident, as it had done when I had previously started a 'Photo a Day' project and that I would feel like I had failed. On the contrary, I felt great and like I had a new lease of life - as daft as that might sound!

Today, when I went out for a walk, I took a photo the sunlight bouncing off an iron staircase. It looked so pretty in the mid afternoon light. I didn't take it because I *had* to for my project. I took it because I wanted to - something I've not done a lot of late. So, this brings me to the photo I did choose to go with.

My plan for Blip is to start a new project next year and to not worry so much about it. I'm also going to try and complete it using my phone camera rather than stressing that I have to take my camera out and about with me everywhere I go. If any of you still follow me, I'll be back in 2015, feeling rejuvenated and up for the challenges my new project will bring! Have a lovely time and until then, keep safe and keep blipping. :-) x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.