Vienna

Today I saw 2 art exhibitions of 2 of the worlds greatest painters, Monet, and then Klimt.

Before coming to Austria, I had no idea these great exhibitions were on, nor that my hotel was ideally situated the south side of the old city and perfectly placed for the rather delightful Belvedere galleries.

Monet was as easy on the eye as ever. I can never tire of his work up close. The surprise was Klimt. I had not seen many of his works face to face and here I saw rooms full of incredible talent. Each led layer on layer to the greatness that is 'The Kiss,' this incredible piece with its princesses by either side; 'Judith' and the delectable 'Sonja Knips.' Never to be forgotten.

These galleries were beautifully laid out, and the crowds that can often make London shows oppressive, were simply not here. It was a joy to take in these pieces of great history and to do with the gift of time.

We then walked across the city to the coolest of dirty eclectic bars, Kleines Cafe in Franziskanerplatz Square. 5 hours later, we left......

A fine day.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.