mef13

By mef13

Romsey Twinning

I was more than delighted that the town of Romsey chose to make a formal twinning agreement with the historic northern Italian town of Treviglio, just a few miles from Milan.

Local dignitaries in both towns have been talking about it for a number of years, yet it was not until March this year that the agreement was finally signed, linking the two towns in cultural and sporting interests.

The rugby clubs in both towns formed their own liaison some while ago.

My own pleasure at seeing the two united is in the fact that while I have lived in and around Romsey for more years than I care to remember, my daughter and her family live just a mile or two from Treviglio, where she and her husband are in business. Indeed I can claim some links myself, as I designed and ran the first website for the Treviglio Rugby Club.

I also took delight today at reliving some of the times I have spent in Treviglio, and weekends in the town’s open air market were always a source of pleasure, bearing in mind it is somewhat larger than the weekend market in Romsey.

Romsey is also twinned with the Brittany fishing port of Paimpol in France and Battenburg in Germany, from where the name of Mountbatten which is indelibly linked with Romsey, originates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.