Miranda's Meanders

By Miranda185

Water-Girl

On finding out that I wanted to visit Goah Gaja (the famous 'elephant cave' in Bedulu, my Indonesian mothers got very excited and started running around preparing things for me to take along. Eventually, laden with offerings, incense, a sarong and several empty water bottles I set out on my bicycle.. With strict instructions to wash myself in the fountains there for at least five minutes.

After a fairly epic day of traipsing around caves and scrambling up and down river-banks (and locating the nearby site of Yeh Pulu), the uphill ride home with four litres of fountain water on my back was a killer! They were buzzing when I unveiled it all on my return though - all manner of healing powers apparently! Of course I could have bought some from the shop around the corner and it would have had the same effect...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.