Leiflife

By Leiflife

Leaf Shadow

The day began with stormy weather, somewhat discouraging outdoor pleasures...even for Pearl. I made the most of the time inside to carry on with the sculpture. The basic form realized, smoothed and dried, it was time to move out of my comfort zone...to initiate incising and color on a form that I liked as it was. I must be brave in order to test my ability to decorate free form sculptures.

I began by drawing the reclining figure of a woman stretched along the outer side of the sculpted vessel, finding that the curving and uneven surface invited the lines to flow and express. Then the incising tool must follow the same lines, must be pressed firmly into the hardened clay to emphasize the contours. I had to cradle the heavy sculpture on my left arm to provide support for the work. It was hard work, but satisfying, if not as playful as it had sometimes been with companions present. When my arms tired to the point of strain, I stopped and discovered that the sun had come out.

I followed Pearl and Music outside to discover a world made new. What a sweet relief it was to watch my dear pets step through the wet leaves with noses alert to the fresh humid air and the delightful odors it carried. I noticed strong shadows wherever I looked, and took out my camera. Dog shadows, cat shadows, tree shadows caught my eye. They were all lovely, but finally I took in the play of leaf shadow over the wall of my house. Already surrounded pretty closely by trees and bushes of all sorts, the shadows increased the effect of the building being embraced by the woods that surround it.

Earlier, as I worked on the sculpture in deep concentration, I had been held by the house that was held by the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.