Sunshine on Leith

By Kevs

For the first time Ive won a bid on ebay, I collect old teacups.

My Coronation cup arrived of H.M. King George 6th and H.M Queen Elizabeth 1937.

I love the deco styling of the teacup, very similar in design to Clarice Cliff, in fact these were made in the same factory in 1937.

Many people are unaware how rare these are until now! as they often think Edward 8ths memorabilia rare, however these are much more valuable as there was little time to manufacture these, after Edward 8ths abdication , and the Coronation of his brother Albert (King George 6th).

Its good memories for me , one being the fact my father fought in the war receiving the Africa Star and 2 campaign medals from the king, and also, as I was lucky enough to meet the Queen mum as a schoolboy when she visited Ayshire opening Hunterson ore terminal many years ago. (Which closed during Margaret Thatcher's decimation of Scottish industry in the 1980s)

History amazes me, when I look at this it reminds me of how the King and Queen helped and supported morale by staying in London during the Nazi onslaught on the UK and air raids especialy the London blitz, it is also amazing that this little cup survived, I wonder how many people toasted from this after the end of the War, if it could talk woudnt it be fascinating!

I will also have a cup of tea in this cup when I next watch the Kings speech !!

For £1.50 bid I think I have done realy well considering the postage was more expensive, sorry but the chap selling on ebay must be kicking himself as this is valued at £250 !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.