Old Devon bridge

Over the Avon near Kingsbridge before the mostly wet journey home. I bet it hasn't changed much in a century. Gill was thrilled (not) to be presented with a just-plucked turkey (don't ask) that still needed the head, legs and innards removing. It's a long time since I've done this. I Googled "drawing a turkey" only to find lots of sites showing you how to sketch one with a pencil when I wanted the full William Wallace.

Anyway we got there, so supper was a dress-rehearsal for Christmas Day. I did take a picture of the process but thought I'd spare you that - we live in a sanitised world. A wild turkey doesn't have the plump breast of a farm bird but has a lot more of the dark meat around the thighs. I like the dark meat. Now the rest has gone in to a turkey curry. Gill also made a chestnut stuffing with English chestnuts we'd gathered a bit earlier. The neck, heart and livers were used to make stock. Next up - three brace of pheasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.