Knottman2

By Knottman2

Once disgraced - now a national hero

Once a year the University of Manchester holds a lunch for Emeritus Professors (retired) to which I am invited. Although I was not a professor I worked there for 30 years and for the last fifteen I was one of the chief administrators. It is a great nostalgic occasion when we meet old colleagues. Although it is sad that the number I know, after twenty years of retirement, is dwindling. Our inspiring Vice-Chancellor, Dame Nancy Rothwell, gives us a report on the exciting things that are happening.

Knowing I was going meant that my blip for today was sorted. It was to be the blue plaque on the wall celebrating the fact that Ernest, Lord Rutherford, Professor of Physics, discovered the atom and was the first scientist to split it thus founding the science of Nuclear Physics.

As I strode confidently down the road from the station my plan fell apart when I found that the plaque was behind a large hoarding associated with building repairs.
What to do?

I was saved by discovering that a few yards away a new plaque had been put up. It is displayed above. It is ironic that Turing in 1954 took his own life having been charged with unnatural behaviour and having his misdeeds on the front of the News of the World.

And now he is a national hero. A brilliant code breaker of Bletchley Park and a founder of Computing. And now the subject of a major film.

There are other Blue Plaques in the University and if I am still blipping you may get another when I go to the lunch next year.

Incidentally the journey was a delight. I don't normally travel First Class, but at under £20 return for a journey which takes an hour and a half and with free coffee and Danish Pastries it was too comfortable to be resisted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.