picnic partners

An unbelievable day of waking up feeling like a bag of nerves but determined to pull myself together enough to get on with the task in hand. We dropped Miss Eve with Auntie Emma and co and headed down to the hospital. After days of waiting it was a bit of a surprise when a midwife just casually broke my waters and threw me into full on labour. Anaesthesia was most definitely required after a few hours on a hormone drip and all was calm. My big sister, Emma arrived in the evening after Eve had been passed on to Grandad overnight and my main entertainment was watching my birth partners devour a picnic which seemed large enough to feed a rugby team! To be fair to Mr B and Emma, they did leave me a selection of goodies to be devoured the following day. Even the midwives were amused by their ability to snack though.

I was grateful for both of them being there to eat, entertain and encourage. I couldn't have done it without them. It was weird that Mum wasn't there but strangely healing to see new life having seen Mum depart a few short months ago. And I just know she would have loved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.