stujphoto

By stujphoto

Wow, I'm glad that's over ...

As the annual photographic exhibition finally goes up in Dunbar Library I can breath a sigh of relief. These last few weeks a have been frenetic. About a month ago my wife fell whilst walking the dog and broke her arm so ever since I have been chief cook and bottle washer in the house. Fortunately she is now getting a lot more movement back in her arm and can even cut her own meat now.

It has also the time of year when I prepare for the annual exhibition - selecting images and working on them, printing and reprinting to get it right, buying mounting board in bulk and cutting it up to mount size, mounting the prints and glue-ing on the backing board, preparing titles and a mission statement and then of course hanging the exhibition. I run this exhibition with another photographer friend, Eric and this year I invited my son to take part as well as he has recently got into landscape photography in a serious way. Unfortunately because he is very busy at work currently, I ended up in having to mount his pictures as well. It is just as well that having completed a couple years of full-time blipping I had decided to blip more occasionally

You sometimes ask yourself whether all the effort was worthwhile but because it forces you work on the images and print them up to exhibition standard it is an immensely important exercise. It also allows you to take stock of your photography and helps you realise that perhaps it was not such a bad year in terms of your photography as you had thought.

In case of you are over this neck of the woods, the exhibition runs until 23rd December and is in the new Dunbar Library

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.