Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Delta

My thought processes went something along these lines:

This will be my five-hundredth (after three years). Haven't thought about what to blip . . . mmmm 500 ... Latin D ... Greek delta . . . a triangle ... let's make it a little more interesting . . . tangram triangle? A for 'orses, B for mutton, C forth Highlanders, D for dumb . . . The Miller of Dee

There dwelt a miller, hale and bold, beside the river Dee;
He danced and sang from morn till night, no lark so blithe as he;
And this the burden of his song forever used to be: -
"I care for nobody, no not I, if nobody cares for me.
"I live by my mill, God bless her! she's kindred, child, and wife;
I would not change my station for any other in life;
No lawyer, surgeon, or doctor e'er had a groat from me;
I care for nobody, no not I if nobody cares for me."
When spring begins his merry career, oh, how his heart grows gay;
No summer's drought alarms his fear, nor winter's cold decay;
No foresight mars the miller's joy, who's wont to sing and say,
"Let others toil from year to year, I live from day to day."
Thus, like the miller, bold and free, let us rejoice and sing;
The days of youth are made for glee, and time is on the wing;
This song shall pass from me to thee, along the jovial ring;
Let heart and voice and all agree to say, "Long live the king."


An older less misanthropic version:

There was a jolly miller once
Lived on the river Dee ;
He work'd and sang from morn till night,
No lark more blithe than he.
And this the burden of his song
Forever used to be
I care for nobody, no, not I,
If nobody cares for me.

The reason why he was so blithe,
He once did thus unfold
The bread I eat my hands have earn'd;
I covet no man's gold ;
I do not fear next quarter-day;
In debt to none I be.
I care for nobody, no, not I,
If nobody cares for me.

A coin or two I've in my purse,
To help a needy friend ;
A little I can give the poor,
And still have some to spend.
Though I may fail, yet I rejoice,
Another's good hap to see.
I care for nobody, no, not I,
If nobody cares for me.

So let us his example take,
And be from malice free;
Let every one his neighbour serve,
As served he'd like to be.
And merrily push the can about
And drink and sing with glee;
If nobody cares a doit for us,
Why not a doit care we.


... Möbius strip . . . so, a Möbius strip delta it is with quite a bit of messing about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.