a little too close

It would have been deeply embarrassing to have fallen to my death (or, at least, unpleasantly severe injury) from the rickety ladder leading to the loft of a house of to which we went for a second viewing this afternoon. Luckily, as the bottom of the ladder slipped on the carpet and out over the stairs my right little and ring fingers turned out to be handily-placed to be partially-crushed between the top of the ladder and the hatch-frame, preventing the bottom of the ladder swinging far enough to smash the glass of the bathroom door or unbalance me enough to fall. Conveniently, one of the many weirdly-positioned features (a cupboard at the top of the stairs) provided somewhere to gingerly park my feet in order to be able to let go of the hatch-frame with my left hand in order to be able to swing the ladder back and attempt to retrieve what luckily turned out to still be all of both the affected fingers and almost all the blood that came with them. I was slightly prevented from inspecting what had looked (during the brief first viewing yesterday evening) like potentially leak-damaged roof-timbers in the loft as closely as I had hoped but I saw enough to tell that we'll need some form of inspection by an expert in the ways of woodstuffs prior to expressing any interest in proceeding with any sort of purchase-movements. Though both fingers continued to throb significantly despite painkillers and frozen peas they behaved enough to allow me to complete the trimming and fixing of the architrave sufficiently to secure a day off tomorrow, though my planned activities of wandering around and taking pictures might have to be accompanied by flinching slightly every now and then, depending on what the bruising turns out to be like in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.