Unipedal Resting

Jack Heron looking glum, standing on one leg, in the rain.

I had to visit Mother's bank in Epping this afternoon and even though it was raining and the light was poor, I headed for the forest and took a walk around Connaught Water. This lake was hand-dug in a swampy area and named after the Duke of Connaught, the first forest Ranger.

I used to bring my grandchildren here when they were little. There have been changes since. Heritage Lottery Fund money has been used to build a boardwalk and there has been much tidying. Too much, according to one woman I spoke to. Her children are sad that the logs they used to climb on have been removed.

The storm drain was gushing noisily and spectacularly after all the rain we have had. I have pics of my young grandchildren climbing inside the pipes and thought of the sad story of the abandoned baby in that Australian drain. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.