KatGirl

By katgirl

Mayo Clinic Scottsdale Desert Nature Exhibit

I was back at the Mayo Clinic for a test today. I had multiple waits of 2 hours each between scans, which were rather dull in a building without wifi and a dearth of plugs for my cell phone. I didn't anticipate such, and hadn't brought a book. Then I heard an announcement for a 'Desert Talk.' A nature trail docent gave a 1.5 hour lecture on the local flora and fauna that was quite fascinating. Afterwards, I had time to check out this small exhibit. The large head is that of a Javelina (pronounced Have Uh Leena), also known as the Collared Peccary. They are herbivores, so they don't attack human beings. But they might if you are walking a dog (coyotes like to prey on their young). It isn't recommended to feed them, as they, in turn, are food for mountain lions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.