Dufay Jean

Another dour day. The electric light has been on all day. Took the advantage of having to do an indoor shot to get some prints of this colour transparency my sister, Jean, asked me to do. The story goes that the Laird's wife (my father was Gamekeeper on Balnakeilly) was so taken with the colur of my sister's hair because it matched the colour of the Laird's Red Setter, that she insisted on taking a picture of them together. I must say my sister doesn't look too pleased with having to pose for her. I did the same for an Ektachrome transparency some blips ago see by clicking HERE and got better results.

Dufaycolor, an additive colour transparency process, was named after M.Louis.Dufay. Ilford Ltd acquired an interest in Dufay-Chromex Ltd. (14-16 Cockspur Street, London; later Dufay Ltd.) in 1935 for whom it started to manufacture a reversal colour film of the additive type under the brand name Dufaycolor.

Although processing was relatively simple (and instructions were published), Ilford offered a service for processing roll films. A 120 size roll film had 6 exposures and 6 Dufaycolor transparencies cost a total of 4/10d (24p) to process, more than £10 in 2005 money.

Perhaps because of the cost of colour film in general, colour film did not outsell Black & White film until the 1970s!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.