Weather for Lovely Ducks

Having my clutch fixed
Having a new kitchen installed
The forecast looks terrible
I've done my back in


These were the excuses of my fellow fungi surveyors for not turning up today. I went along anyway check that anyone else didn't turn up. They didn't. I didn't do any formal surveying, I just had a look at what was around, and went down to Longshaw Pond to check out reports of nearly 40 Mandarin Ducks. Sure enough there they were. As they are now successful breeders in the wild in this country, they are accepted as naturalised British birds, despite their exotic looks and origins. I got pretty wet, but treated myself to coffee and a scone at the cafe (which was much quieter than usual), and then came home to dry out and warm up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.