A dripping red rose to brighten a dull day

I feel a bit better and think the tide has turned, but I certainly wouldn't say I feel well. I drove Helena to her early shift as she was running late and that was a bit of a shock. But at least it got me up and running when I might easily have wanted to stay in bed.

It was very foggy this morning and I thought that the low cloud cover would remain all day. When I got home Bomble greeted me with an enquiry about food which I didn't respond to. Instead I fetched a camera and came outside again as I'd seen so many interesting spiders' webs all round the garden covered with water droplets in all sorts of shapes and sizes.

I also liked the berries on the various shrubs which are richly coloured and looked interesting with droplets hanging from their bottoms. As I walked about the garden Bomble joined me and started to play, running up the trunk of the rhus tree, jumping on the top of the fences, chasing imaginary prey and then marking his territory very thoroughly.

I decided that it was coffee time, so I started to go towards the rear doors of the house and then spotted this delightful red rose, which I've consistently mismanaged and treated badly. Why it has suddenly decided to produce a rose bud after the first very heavy frosts, I have no idea. But I had to blip it. I don't feel like going far to look for a 'Derelict Thursday' blip, which I might have done if I was feeling better. But I am pleased to get such a lovely flower washed by autumnal water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.