Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Historic Moments

An incredible experience this morning, witnessing the next historic steps in Scotland's democratic journey. I was lucky enough to be in the invited audience for the announcement of The Smith Commission recommendations, held at the National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh.

The setting of the main atrium was impressive indeed as we sat waiting for Lord Smith and the representatives of all the political parties, surrounded by a huge phalanx of media, reporters and photographers.

I managed to retain my decorum when it was announced he was recommending extending the franchise to 16 & 17 year olds in time for the 2016 elections - my "hurrah" was muttered under my breath and my victorious fist-pump purely imaginary :)

Whatever your politics, a momentous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.