WARNING.....

.........this image may disturb some vegetarians.

We finally managed to fatten one our steers sufficiently to send to the butcher and today we collected our meat. It is the first home grown one we are consuming ourselves. Half went to James (John's brother) and we are wrestling with packaging and freezing the other 100kgs.

We purchased a vacuum packaging gadget that sucks the air out of the plastic bags and seals them. It is cheaper than getting the butcher to cryovac (although I'm not so sure now as the bags are pretty expensive). As you can imagine there is quite a lot of work involved but the advantage is I can package in the exact sizes I might need.
Of course a fair bit of it will end up in Sydney in our kids' freezers.....

We stopped for dinner and tested out the sausages which were pretty good, so that's encouraging.
Now I have to get back to it, so apologies if I don't meet all my blip commitments tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.