The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Black Friday - A Blip Rant

Deep breath ....

We had been building towards this day all week in the news. It duly delivered this morning.

I have never been so wound up by the carnage on my breakfast television this morning. Grown adults behaving like looters just simply to get an artificially created sale price on item they don't even really need!

I posted on twitter, if you are fighting in a store to get a few quid off a Frozen toy this morning then you are a Muppet! I obviously touched a nerve as I got twenty odd re-tweets immediately. I had even seen the footage from Gabalfa Tesco at midnight ... yes midnight .. of police struggling to control a frenzied crowd trying to strip the shelves of TecniK Plasma Tele's because they were selling them cheap.

If they are stupid enough to believe that then the old adage of fools and money is true!

Let me give you two examples.

I asked for a new set of hair clippers for Xmas from mum and dad in September. They went to buy them, I told them don't, because they are currently on sale at £59.99. They are not for sale at any other time of the year at that price for one simple reason. As if by magic about mid November they are suddenly 50% off! Check out the boots website for Philips Hair Clippers if you don't believe me.

We bought a new bed in DFS years ago. When we asked what stock was on the second floor, the sales rep told us don't buy anything from up there, as that's all the stuff they have to display at full price for so long so it can then go at half price in the sale!

So you see, if you truly believe some of the bargains are really bargains you are an idiot. You have fallen for the oldest trick in the supermarkets book!

To see the want! want! want! need! need! need! this morning was truly sickening. A fortnight ago people were attacking those on the new Band Aid record for being rich and asking you give to charity. I would have rather bought the record today, than stuff my hard earned cash into the drooling mouth of bloated consumerism!

As my good friend Dr Rhys Jones said on Facebook earlier ... 6000 years of civilisation and it comes to this ...

Thankfully the kind of people who rip shelves off the wall to get at a bargain, and do it all again on Boxing Day are in the minority. Like rats frenzy feeding over spilt seeds they only come out once in a while, and then they slink back to their materialistic holes. The rest of us will just watch in disbelief ...

Rant over .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.