Capturing the Everyday

By JulianBuchanan

The Poaka (Pied Stilt)

Had a short stroll this afternoon around the reserve at the back of our house, the sun was shining and the light was excellent. I had a few photos I’d like to have 'blipped’ for today, the towering pine trees, the grassy footpath or one of a white baiter in his waders guarding his net. This weekend is the last weekend of the white baiting season.

But once again a late entry trumps the earlier shots. The nearby lagoon that has previously showcased a blip of Royal Spoonbills was today receiving a visit by a pair of Poaka or Pied Stilt.

I was pleased with this shot because it the bird is nicely positioned, but I was pleasantly surprised by the reflections of the flax surrounding the lagoon, producing Monet-like reflections.

Best view large.

I think I’m becoming addicted...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.