IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Advent cross

I reluctantly dragged my lazy body onto a bicycle and out into the autumnal afternoon; and thank god I did, it's always a good idea, well almost always. The familiar fields look marvellous in the dull afternoon light, the mist creeping in as the day cools down and turning the hedgerows and woods a smoky blue in the middle distance.

Later I realised that tomorrow is the first Sunday in advent. I am not especially religious - not in any conventional sense - it is just that I think the mystery of our existence goes rather deeper than any formal religion can encompass; but I do love some of the Christmas rituals (probably more than Christmas itself!) The advent cross is a Danish and I think Scandinavian and German tradition. You are supposed to light the first candle on the first Sunday in advent, the first and second on the second Sunday...and so on. By the time you have lit the fourth, it is almost Christmas. Anyway it's a bit of beautiful candlelight in the dark as the solstice approaches.

And here's one I prepared earlier...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.