Not Hope

"As I write, high in the skies above Russia, 3yr old Hope is battling to escape the grip of the advancing Arctic winter. Perhaps the fearless young Bewick's swan will survive her epic 3,000km flight. Perhaps she'll make it back to Britain's milder winter from the Bewick's Russian Arctic breeding grounds."

Stunning birds with individual characters and I love them!!

I never get this. Sometimes you walk away thinking you've got 'The Shot' that will make you a million - well ha......no comment on that and then you walk away and think crickey how am I going to blip one of those? Each scenario being not what you would imagine when you get them on the computer!

This is not Hope - I've checked her beak.

Perhaps - this year, at least - Hope will be one of the lucky ones."

Illegal hunting, power lines, infrastructure development and changes in farming activity are her downfall. Will update you as soon as I get the gen but the numbers this year are really down. Between 1885 and 2010 the numbers are down by a third to just 18,000! These were only 55 counted yesterday here. As I stood in the dust there were very few flying in and the hide was buzzing with concern.

Let's hope there is hope for Hope!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.