Maid in Cornwall

By curlycarrie

Distraction

The boy and I headed to the beach for a bit of distraction following a horrible, horrible night. Yesterday evening while I was busy making paper owls, the doglet had managed to get her furry little paws on the Christmas cake ingredients and had helped herself to the raisins. I was oblivious to this until she started vomiting raisins in the early hours of the morning. By some stroke of good luck I had recently read an article about a dog that died after eating raisins and knew I should be worried. I phoned the emergency vets, and on their advice made a 2am dash up to Truro. Doglet was immediately flushed through with charcoal and put on a drip. I came home and stayed up most of the night thinking the worst. When the out of hours vets closed, I picked her up and took her to our usual vet where she stayed on her drip until they closed. Then back up to the out of hours vet where she is staying tonight so they can carry on flushing her out.
The vets are all quite positive that she was treated in time and that she will be OK. She will hopefully be coming home tomorrow afternoon if all goes well, but she'll be back to the vets at the end of the week when it should be a bit clearer wether or not her kidneys have taken any serious damage.
So all in all, a horrible weekend. I think I may give the Christmas cake a miss this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.