The Geeky Christian

By s90man

At the City Hall

Today was the big day! To the City Hall for the Sheffield Hallam 2014 ACES Graduation. The best bit was meeting up with my fellow graduates and getting up on the stage (once I swallowed my nerves!) which was really great and made the whole thing worth it; really drew a line under the whole thing. We could have done without what came on either side of that good bit though!

First it took forever to get in, our chosen method of public transport proving a poor one, leading to a bit of a mad rush for me on arrival. And then the ceremony overran and after the ceremony there was an admin cock-up and a lot of annoying misdirection on the part of the stewarding staff that led to me having to do a lot of unnecessary standing and moving about when I was already tired. And then we discovered that the inside of City Hall is like a mobile dark zone, and I couldn't find Mum & Dad for ages and wandered around in confusion for a while... when all was said and done I didn't get to eat anything until past 2:00! A total pain.

But people's prayers must have worked as I somehow had the energy for it all and it was way more than I've done for the last week! I'm just so glad that it's done and that I had the experience and met my few fellow students. Sheffield College's ceremony was actually better though, much better organised!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.