Today's Special

By Connections

All In

It's been sunny but bitterly cold here all day. When I went to the farmers' market this morning, the temperature was 18F/-8C. Taking into account the chill factor with winds of 24-38 miles per hour, the temperature was 11F/-12C--the coldest I've been in a long time!

A number of vendors cancelled, enabling everyone else to be accommodated in the Depot Market building. The heaters were on and the doors were closed, but every time more customers entered or left, a blast of Arctic air came in. I didn't take many photos!

Fortunately, Bellingham Farmers Market shoppers are a hardy lot, and despite the frigid weather, there were shoppers there today, enjoying the mix of famers, crafters, and food vendors cozily tucked up together.

I was very grateful for the warmth of the handmade heavy wool cap I bought in Iceland last autumn, as well as for the wool fingerless gloves that my sister made for me. Multiple layers kept me reasonably warm, but the walk from the market to my car was bone-chilling.

Phil and I had planned to go downtown for a special meal this evening to celebrate our 17th anniversary, but with the temperature sinking after sunset, we both agreed that a simple meal at home, near the fireplace, was a more appealing prospect!

Blip 1101

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.