With a little help.....

My German uncle Georg (English=George) after who I was half named (the other half coming from my German grandfather Georg [English'=George]), used to simultaneously compliment and critisize my father for his typical "English Gentleman" behaviour. He would say my father could be served a plate of nails in a restaurant, would eat them and say the meal was "all ok" when asked by the waiter. He would however never go back. Georg said one had to complain if things were to improve and if nesessary, make a big fuss.

On Thursday on realising we had to have a new lawnmower, did some web research and then phoned a nationwide DIY store (same name as a well known School of Art/Architecture founded in Weimar 1919) with branches in Memmingen & Kempten. In both cases I was told they didn't have any on stock, Memmingen had the showroom demo but they would have to check it was complete and worked. Not said but implied: DON'T EVEN THINK OF SAYING YOU WANT IT AS WE HAVEN'T GOT TIME AND CAN'T BE BOTHERED.. Both times I was simply told no, have a nice day.

Doesn't often happen but I was angry afterwards and with the website still open wrote a brief message detailing the calls and saying, while I understand they don't have any in on stock in December, the products are standard year round items in their catalogue and can be ordered. I stated that I wanted to buy their product and not from the competition but asked whether they wanted my few thousand Euros.

Got a standard email acknowledgement and thought that would be it but just after midday today the person I had spoken to in Memmingen called to apologise. He had been mistaken having typed in the wrong product number and there was indeed one new one in the store.

So hitched up trailer and set off. All went well, the staff knew exactly "who" I was and were extremely helpful and friendly.With a bit of pushing and shoving from a forklift and four blokes, the 300+kg crate was loaded.

Not only do I now have what I want but Bauhaus has my money and so both sides have profited. Uncle Georg was right - factual and constructive criticism does help. Many in the gastronomy/hotel business will tell you that a well dealt with complaint is better for your image than a simple good (i.e up to expectations) meal/stay. An excellent experience will be passed on to one person, a bad experience will be transmitted to five other people and a problem well solved to three. This service industry has to accept it is judged by different values. Buy a bad bag of potatoes and queue up at the till for 5 minutes at Tesco's won't stop you going back next week to do your shopping.

Back home tried hiding Angie's boxed Birthday and Christmas present for the years 2014-2019. Just in case she came around the corner, put some Xmas lights on it.

Then set about getting it out of the box while trying to maintain as much as possible of the box, perhaps the basis for a tree house or similar for the grandchildren.Was quite an effort, everything very closely packed to survive the journey from the USA where it is "assembled" for the world's largest outdoor power products company from Sweden. Given the price it is probably built with 1990's technology and parts from Vietnam. However the "real" thing brand name is well out of my price class. I have even had to do without the automatic "Your coffee mug is nearly empty" warning light but as Angie will be the main user, I could accept this downgrade.

Now need to try and assemble all the bits and pieces and work through the four handbooks, each with 91 pages. Will start with the one with some English and the German ought to be OK but the other 22 languages will be a real test of how EU friendly I really am.

Finished outdoors at 20:15 and greeted by Angie having cooked a favourite Shepherds/Cottage pie based dish which she loves too. Suited the grey misty weather. With two pairs of dog eyes watching every mouthful, I was then ready to call my Blip godfather Nogbad and as always had a great chat & update. Notice it time & again with family & friends - Blip saves a heck of a lot of time as they know what one has been up to, in word & picture and one can concentrate on the important matters. Nigel as always pumped me up again and I felt really good afterwards. He even reassured me the Island was simply tossing and turning in a bit of passing stern wash and the anchor lines simply needed to be tightened. I shouldn't fear it was heading in the direction of the Bermuda Traingle. Seemingly the skipper is temporarily incapacitated but expected to take up the helm soon.

Nogbad then went to do his pre Christmas dinner wine testing and I to my second portion of pie and a beer. Great to hear your voice again Nigel. Wish we have the eyeball version one day soon.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.