So What Else Is Left In Life

It must be a couple of years ago now when I first met Sister Mary. I'm not religious and our encounter was completely by chance. I was sipping a latte one early frosty morning when she emerged out of nowhere leading Clara across the empty square. The contrast between them two was irresistible and I popped out of the cafe to ask for a photograph. The rest is history.
At 88 she is the only nun left in her parish and it is a lonely life, she is not hiding it. Her parish are her family, Sister Mary is telling me in her Irish accent.
Recently she was taken ill to hospital and I went to visit a couple of times. Initially I was afraid she was too frail to recover and was I glad to see her slowly regain the sparkle in her eye. She simply doesn't need much of anything, I suspect this is her secret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.