Simply Me

By Suze981

Castles, palaces and ruins

Every year for St Andrew's Day, Historic Scotland offers free admission to sites across Scotland. My folks and I have been for the past couple of years:

2012: Edinburgh Castle
2013: Tantallon Castle & Dirleton Castle

This year we visited Craigmillar Castle and Linlithgow Palace. Craigmillar Castle is only 3 miles from my house, and on one of my 10 mile running routes, but I'd never even seen it, let alone been in it.

It really is a fantastic opportunity, but there didn't seem to be a lot of people at either site. All the better for us really. We had a fabulous day exploring!

These were my favourite 3 shots of the day - all taken at Linlithgow Palace. And yet, I do believe I preferred Craigmillar Castle. I'm refining my exploring preferences all the time - for me, it needs to be a ruin, it needs to be remote, it needs to be wild, it needs stone spiral staircases and it needs to be small. I'm not asking for much am I?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.