Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Afraid Of Nothing

Sligtly ironic title there, but it's the name of one of the tracks by the lovely lady you see above.

Had a very weird day today; it was our team away day and we went to a place called Acker's Adventure. The day started off pretty well; the cakes I made went down a treat, we did a few fun ice-breaking exercises (I got to play with PlayDoh) and we talked about ideas for improvement of the service and team morale for the next 12 months. Unfortunately the day took a turn for the embarassing after lunch when the outdoor activities started. I'm not good at physical activity, never have been, and I don't much enjoy it. I enjoy it even less when it involves other people, and pretty much downright hate it when the other people happen to be good at sports/competetive. I started getting anxious during a fairly standard team building exercise involving travelling across crates and hurdles and opted to sit it out, but then had a mild anxiety attack when it came to doing the jungle challenge... I felt like a right berk as I got all hot and sweaty, then started crying and couldn't breathe... Embarassing isn't really the word... I just really didn't want to enter an assault course in the forest covered in slippery wet leaves and trees roots in the grim greyness, or indeed make a tit of myself by failing miserably at the challenge with everyone from work watching...

Anyhoo, I sat out on the jungle challenge, then went to meet Rich to see the (pictured) Sharon van Etten. She was absolutely wonderful, however due to feeling pretty tired, achey, sheepish and down from the away day shenanigans, I wasn't really in the best place to really enjoy the gig. It's a shame too, because she is amazing live, and has a beautifully haunting voice. All I wanted, however, was to go home, lie down and have a sleep in my cosy bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.