Life's tangled skein

By atp

Misty Cockleroy

My NODA friend Samantha Hawkins challenged me to post five black-and-white photographs, so I decided to incorporate that into my Project365. I haven’t done much monochrome work before; I guess I think in colour and only use black and white when the colour balance is too bad to correct!

The various web sites I read said that one should go for strong shapes and deep contrasts when photographing b+w. So when I awoke this morning and saw that it was very misty, I knew that I was stuffed! But I reckoned I would make the most of it anyway…

So this Is the top of Cockleroy, in the mist. The two pillars are a direction indicator and a triangulation point. The later has a bunch of flowers on it, for some reason I couldn’t discover. But the mist added a quiet, deadening layer to the air and left me feeling alone on the earth… I hope that this conveys something of that feeling of solitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.