loisbiz

By loisbiz

Young Flicker

I heard them before I saw them in the neighbor's tree....three Flickers.....two large and one much smaller. This little guy was staying close to the larger branches...I think the high winds were concerning him. I snapped a few shots before he was gone. This one is the best. There is something about their coloring that is very appealing to me.

While I was outside, the birds suddenly started a new sound....I felt like it was some kind of warning.....and then suddenly a small hawk swooped in and handed in a bush just off my deck....he was hidden from sight except for a speck of movement.....then off he went way up into the sky. I never got a photo, I was too intrigued by the action. It all happened so fast, I don't think I could have focused on any of it.

Very cold here today. It is 4PM now and already back down to below freezing. Good thing we got the plants covered back up earlier. The hummers were happy to visit them again today. I wonder where all the little birds and critters go when it is so cold and windy. Wind gusts up to 50MPH!

Thanks to hubby that I could borrow his computer again for a few minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.