Now We Shall Have Some Pie!

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan

I love to bake! And on the morning of Thanksgiving day, I made one of my famous apple pies, chock full of juicy apples and brown sugar and cinnamon. I like to make my baked goods from scratch, starting with fresh ingredients from our kitchen. (OK, so I'll admit I don't invent the universe first.) Sometimes it's cookies, other times it's brownies or a deluxe strawberry cheesecake or banana walnut muffins or an apple crisp, but on Thursday, it was pie.

I slice and dice the apples, cover them in a mixture of sugar and flour and cinnamon, stow them in a fresh pie crust made of flour and vegetable shortening and water, top it with a nice lattice crust, and sprinkle bits of butter, sugar, and brown sugar on top. I crimp the crust with a fork and trim the edges, and into the oven it goes. While baking, it makes the house smell like cinnamon-apple-brown-sugar heaven. When it comes out . . . Voilà! Pie!

The robust piece of pie shown in this photo is actually the slice I cut for my husband to enjoy. The slightly smaller piece behind it is mine. :-) Did you want a piece? Well, go ahead and help yourself! And through the magic of the Internets, you may top it with whatever you like! Hmm, how about a big spoonful of slightly melting cinnamon or French vanilla ice cream on top?

The song to accompany this photo is the wonderful Don McLean tune, American Pie. I'm including his version as well as a cover by Madonna. And here's an extra bonus track, in honor of Mr. Sagan, whose quote began this blip: A Glorious Dawn. Enjoy the pie!

P.S. One of my favorite Internet memes is from the Three Little Kittens Mother goose nursery rhyme. View it here:
BEHOLD! I found my mittens! Now I shall have some pie!

P.P.S. (Or shall we make that P.P.B.?) Prior pie blips . . .
A was once an apple pie
Pie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.