Disappointment

Feel 'glass half empty,'
I've been waiting in all day.
Plumbers and parcels!


Well, December started as a flop!

Took my sedative early last night so I could be up early this morning for the plumber. Thought he'd gone to the wrong side of the road when I saw a van I didn't recognise but it seems that one of the new builds has problems bigger than me when I saw radiators being taken off and dragged out onto the street!

I rang the call centre at 12 to say I hadn't heard anything and was told my booking was 2 till 6. No, I said, 8 till 12, 2 till 6 was my Saturday booking that you had to postpone. "Oh, it's gone in the book as 2 till 6, do you still want it?" Yes I said, I've booked the day off work but I'll have some lunch and let them know I won't be in until tomorrow now.

I'd say it gradually started getting dark but I don't think I saw a car go past all day that didn't have headlights on!

As I picked the phone up to chase them again the doorbell went. The poor Polish delivery driver was very apologetic as I answered the door still muttering under my breath! I said sorry I thought you were the plumber I've been waiting for since 8 o' clock!

Of course he didn't have either of the parcels I was expecting today but one that I thought would be here Wednesday!

Mum texted "Dare I ask?" as the phone rang. The clock said 17:58.

A young lad told me they wouldn't be making it today. I told him I'd guessed as much, had he seen the time?! his reply was that the chap coming to me was in an area with a bad mobile signal so they hadn't been able to find out how he was getting on. "We'll be with you sometime tomorrow, OK?" No, not ok, I've already lost a day's work, come on Wednesday. "Shall we make you the first booking?" I would, I said!

I'll be happy to go to the office tomorrow just so that I don't need to wear gloves indoors!

Is this what they call swings and roundabouts? Stop the ride I want to get off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.